Book of the Month :- January 2015

Have you had a light bulb moment while reading a book?

Ever finish a book and want to tell all your friends about it?!

Well that’s me right now.

The Road Less Traveled - A New Psychology of Love Traditional Values and Spiritual Growth written by M Scott PeckActually, I had loads of light bulb moments while reading this book. The Road Less Traveled – A New Psychology of Love, Traditional Values and Spiritual Growth by M. Scott Peck, M.D. First published in 1978, it is considered a pioneer and a classic.

I had never heard of this book before but I came across it while looking at the bookshelf of my January apartment. Long story short, I am a hobo bouncing from sublet apartment to sublet apartment while back in my home town, Toronto (Canada). So part of my sublet adventures include exposure to new things and new interactions.

The best part of moving each month are the gifts I have received from the Universe. This book is one of the best gifts I have received from the Universe in January. Another gem I have received this month was the opportunity to practice setting boundaries and enforce them when necessary. To practice speaking up for myself. Honouring myself and clarifying my self-worth. I also had the opportunity to practice manifestation when I needed a new apartment, unexpectedly. What a way to start 2015! (Sorry, I digress.)

***

When the student is ready, The teacher will appear. ~ Buddha.

This time my teacher appeared as a book.

This book is very well written and it was written in such a way that is easy to understand. Dr. Peck uses stories of his past patients as examples. He connects science with spirituality and religion through real-life experiences. I made plenty of notes. Several passages resonated with me and has help me understand certain experiences from a different perspective. Whenever that happened, I felt lighter afterwards, like I could finally leave that piece of baggage behind.

These days I am one small needle in the haystack of countless others on the path of Spiritual Growth. However, we are all on what is our own personal, unique path. What is different is that our life is different and unique. We are all unique in our own way. My usual analogy is that, we are all on the same staircase, each on a different step and sometimes we share the same tread. Sometimes I take two steps back, then the next day I may take half a step forward.

Nevertheless, we are all in this together. So I would like to share this helpful tool with you.

* I am just recommending this book because I really enjoyed it. I will not receive any monetary gains from endorsing this book.

2 thoughts on “Book of the Month :- January 2015

  1. Pingback: The Road Less Travelled | The Proto Star

Leave a Reply

