Scenery Sunday : Finisterre, Spain

If you are in Spain and want to see a beautiful coastline with history to boast – try visiting Finisterre or “End of the Earth”.

Galicia is a beautiful region. It’s home to the founder of clothing store Zara.

Pilgrims from around the world arrive in Finisterre to complete their walk on the St. James Way.

This is a pivotal location for many people’s lives. It has affected me even though I did not walk the Camino.

***

Silhouette of church

Church along the coastline

Cape Finisterre Spain coastline

Cape Finisterre, Spain

0 km at Finisterre Spain St James Way Camino de Compostela

0 km at Finisterre, Spain (St James Way – Camino de Compostela)

Honoring the pilgrims boot by burning my own socks

Honoring the pilgrims boot by burning my own socks

Longest granary in Galicia Spain

Longest granary in Galicia, Spain

Momentos left at Finisterre Spain after the camino

Momentos left at Finisterre Spain after the camino by pilgrims

Path of Camino Santiago de Compostela

Path of Camino Santiago de Compostela (St. James Way)

Pilgrims walking the camino Way of St James in Spain

Pilgrims walking the camino – Way of St James in Spain

3 thoughts on “Scenery Sunday : Finisterre, Spain

  1. I made it to Finisterre a few days after we arrived in St James after waling about 200kms of the camino. At the end, I got the most horrible stomach flue, and just when I was getting better my friend had her flight home. I decided to finish the camino by taking the bus to the end of the world, and even though I thought one of the greatest things on the camino was to meet people, in Finisterre, I just felt like being alone, maybe partly due to still feeling quite week. I still remember the feeling with my whole body. But there was something in thinking back on all the stories I’d met and that had been to the location, and just enjoy the sea. Funny one can feel so strongly when thinking of it still 9 years later!

    Like

    • Good on you for walking 200+km of the St James Way! Sounds like you had quite the experience emotionally and physically. A lot of the people that I met in Santiago de Compostela mentioned that bonding with others on the camino played a large role in their experience. I’m happy I helped invoke your memories from 9 years ago – the mind is simply amazing. Wishing you all the best and thanks again for continued support of my blog! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

