Mon cheri… Paris

Today I heard from a couple of friends who call Paris home – my mind went right to work and a flood of memories streamed through my mind.

L’homme, I met at a yoga/meditation retreat in Kathmandu back in 2011, right after my trip to Bhutan. For a few days, we shared laughs, stories and yoga time with his partner. We even took a day trip to Patan, shopped for Tibetan singing bowls and meditated a bit in the Durbar Square.

La femme, I met just a few months ago in Banff where we shared a 4-bed hostel room in Banff. She was traveling with her partner across Canada and parts of USA, prior to their return to France after living in Toronto for a period of time. We talked about the variety of cuisine Toronto has to offer and they gave me a ride to Lake Louise and saved me a costly bus ticket.

Honestly, traveling solo does not mean traveling alone.

Oh I digress…

In 2005, after months of mending my heart from an unexplained breakup (he walked out without reason after 5 years relationship), I decided to spend a week in the city of Love – how ironic, right? I got myself a fully equipped, studio apartment in the heart of the Latin Quarter. The first day was the only day I tried to diligently follow a paper map – many of the small streets are not shown. As a result, I got lost countless times and caused much unnecessary frustration.

From that point on, I simply explored and wandered around Paris. I got to a few of the main tourist spots but found much more interesting gems by accident – like the old home of Sigmund Freud. When I wanted to head home, I’d pull out my map, ask a Parisian where we’re standing and I figure out my route home. [By home, I mean where I’m staying in Paris, not home in Toronto. I’ve found out this tend to confuse people when I say that. For me, my home is wherever I happen to be physically.]

Funny thing – One night, I was so tired, I didn’t pay attention to where I am and when I asked a Parisian our location, he pointed onto the map. My eyes bulged a bit, then the internal comment “Girl, your home is around the corner!” I did not notice I’m standing right at the metro station closest to my home!

Without further ado, here are some of my photos from Paris in 2005…

The colors from the stain glass window caught my eyes - inside Notre Dame, Paris, France

The colors from the stain glass window caught my eyes

One of the many bouquets left outside a church, I guessed there was to be a funeral later in the day (Paris, France)

One of the many bouquets left outside a church, I guessed there was to be a funeral later in the day

One of the most ornate clocks I've laid eyes on and not too gawdy. (Musée d'Orsay)

One of the most ornate clocks I’ve laid eyes on and not too gawdy. (Musée d’Orsay)

Eiffel tower all lite up

Eiffel tower all lite up

The beautiful Arc de Triomphe de l'Étoile at dusk (Paris, France)

The beautiful Arc de Triomphe de l’Étoile at dusk

Leave a Reply

