It’s cold outside…

To commemorate the coldest day I’ve experienced while living in Toronto (Jan 3 2013 @ 7:19am -23C, feeling like -39C with windchill) – let’s check out my recent journey to Antarctica!

Antarctica is the last continent for me to visit on this great planet of ours. I had decided to go big or stay home and chose the 18 day journey with Ocean Diamond, a ship that carries about 190 passengers, operated by Quark expedition. On this journey we visited the Falklands and South Georgia Islands.Prior to the departure, one activity I wasn’t sure if I was going to participate was the Polar plunge. Well, to say the least, when the time came, I went for it! (I’m the one at bottom left corner with the green & white bikini) This is definitely something to remember for the rest of my life!

The water did not feel all that cold. It was the exiting that felt the coldest, especially when my skin is still damp and a cool breeze blows by.

On Jan 8 2013, I froze a bit to participate in the polar plunge off Deception Island

On Jan 8 2013, I froze a bit to participate in the polar plunge off Deception Island

For a person who grew up in Winnipeg, Canada – I knew I could handle the cold. At the same rate, I was there during their Summer season, so the weather was very pleasant. The days that we took the zodiac onto the Antarctic peninsula, we typically would walk around and hike up the hill for a better view. Whenever we did a hike, I would be cooking hot inside the bright yellow parka provided by the tour company. A few times when I took off the jacket, steam could be seen rising from the jacket.

Hiking up to the ridge at Orne Harbour, Antarctica

Hiking up to the ridge at Orne Harbour, Antarctica

The view from the ridge (Orne Harbour, Antarctica)

The view from the ridge (Orne Harbour, Antarctica)

Decending from the ridge (hiking in Antarctica)

Decending from the ridge…

Single Woman taking a break after making a snow angel

Single Woman taking a break after making a snow angel

The landscapes I came across was truly a feast for the eyes. I try to do justice with my photos, so I hope I have conveyed 10% of the stunning beauty that the Antarctic has to offer. I think I’ll have to just keep posting more photos to convey the message. Stay warm – if you live in the Northern Hemisphere!

Leave a Reply

