Bolivia – Why Not?!

Photo and Post by Karen Sze

Bolivia, a beautiful land locked country in South America – surrounded by Peru, Chile, Argentina, Paraguay and Brasil.

In 2007, when I told my friends this will be my first “adventure” vacation destination in S.A., the reactions weren’t pretty!! I felt like I was being interrogated and had to defend my decision… I noticed my Argentinian friends were the most “offended” of the bunch. One round of “questioning” went something like this… “Why WOULD you go there?? There’s no beach!” “What were you thinking??” “What’s there to do?” “How do you spend 2 whole weeks there??”

It was really a spur of the moment decision, I saw my friend’s friend’s travel photos. They were beautiful, breath-taking and simply captured my heart. Photos hardly does Nature justice but they help to interpret the moment that inspired the photographer.

Bolivia turned out to be a friendly country with lots of well preserved traditions. The ladies with the Bowler hats selling fresh fruits in the markets and weaving various soft items with alpaca wool. Stepping 500 metres below surface at a silver mine in Potosi was life changing, it definitely shifted my perspective with money and the current materialistic lifestyles. The Dali Desert helps one to understand and relate what inspired Salvador Dali. The Bolivian Salt Flats (Salar d’Uyuni) lets you think the Earth is flat.

The Lesson: Don’t judge a book by it’s cover 😉

p.s. I spoke only 3 of Spanish words before this trip: Hola. Ciao. Gracias.

image

 

2 thoughts on “Bolivia – Why Not?!

  1. Pingback: Mad dash to Cerro Fitzroy | Single Woman Travels!

  2. Pingback: Galapagos Islands – In search of Charles Darwin’s footprints | Single Woman Travels!

Leave a Reply

